Tag Archives: DYW Regional Groups

Language skills – a crutial asset in a global economy⤴

from @ Education Scotland's Learning Blog

More companies are trading with international markets and this has led to growth in global supply chains. Because of this, there is greater demand for workers who have modern language skills, experience of the international business environment and are prepared to work globally.

Increasingly, companies are interested in employing people who can engage and communicate with their customers and suppliers around the world. Workers with experience of the international business environment are more likely to recognise the cultural differences around the world and understand potential trade challenges and find solutions – companies look favourably upon this skillset.

A survey of UK companies found that a quarter of those surveyed said they had lost international business to their competitors, as they did not have adequate modern language skills in their organisation. It is imperative that we move away from the attitude that modern language skills is a ‘nice to have’ attribute.

Learning a modern language will help improve employment prospects. According to a 2015 QS world university rankings report, six out of ten employers said they would give extra credit for international student experience.

Company examples

Paul Sheerin, Chief Executive, Scottish Engineering: “Companies need to open their minds and see exporting as a possibility. People learning languages in school is massively important in that respect. It is not important which language they learn—it is important that they learn a language.”

Do you want to engage with schools?

As a first port of call Scotland National Centre for Languages website outlines their support to engage with schools: https://www.scilt.org.uk/Business/tabid/1297/Default.aspx

Why not get involved with Developing the Young Workforce? The Scottish Government’s Youth Employment Strategy aims to engage employers with education to better prepare young people for the world of work. https://education.gov.scot/scottish-education-system/policy-for-scottish-education/policy-drivers/Developing the Young Workforce (DYW)

Do you need language support to enter a particular market?

Talk to a Scottish Development International (SDI) export adviser about your requirements. SDI may be able to support with translation and language requirements. https://www.scottish-enterprise.com/services/do-business-outside-scotland/talk-to-an-export-adviser/overview/enquiry-form

Do you want to get involved with Developing the Young Workforce and support young people in school?

There are now twenty-one DYW regional groups covering the whole of Scotland. The groups are led by industry and are the main conduit between employers and schools. They can provide practical support to develop programmes, which allow you to engage with young people.

Get in touch with your regional group using the details below:

Regional Group Contact Email
Ayrshire Claire Baird cbaird@ayrshire-chamber.org
Argyll and Bute Maureen McKenna Maureen.McKenna@uhi.ac.uk
Borders Sara Ward sward@dywborders.co.uk
Dundee and Angus Angela Vettraino angela@dywda.co.uk
Dumfries and Galloway Tricia Hunter tricia.hunter@dgchamber.co.uk
Edinburgh and Lothians Michelle Fenwick michelle.fenwick@edinburghchamber.co.uk
Fife Ray Fernie ray.fernie@fife.gov.uk
Forth Valley Jen Henderson jen.henderson@dyw.forthvalley.ac.uk
Glasgow Leona Seaton Leona.seaton@glasgowchamberofcommerce.com
Inverness and Central

Highland

Andy Maxtone andy@dywich.co.uk
Lanarkshire Alison Nimmo Animmo@dywled.org
North Highland Trudy Morris trudy@caithnesschamber.com
Perth and Kinross Fiona Reith FReith@pkc.gov.uk
West Highland Dougie Ormiston douglas.ormiston@dywwesthighland.org
Moray Sarah Baxter sbaxter@dywmoray.co.uk
Orkney Rachel Scarth rachel.scarth@uhi.ac.uk
Shetland Shona Thompson shona.thompson@shetland.gov.uk
North East James Bream james.bream@agcc.co.uk
Outer Hebrides Bernard Chisholm b.chisholm@cne-siar.gov.uk
West Bob Davidson Bob.Davidson@dywwest.co.uk
West Lothian Lauren Brown lauren.brown@dyw-wl.com

Are you a large national employer looking to develop a programme to rollout across multiple regions in Scotland? Get in touch with Steven Turnbull who can support you to develop a programme – steven.turnbull@gov.scot  

DYW Moray releases new career videos⤴

from @ Education Scotland's Learning Blog

DYW Regional Group in Moray involved 15 pupils to plan, film and edit 6 films for use in any educational context to show young people what career opportunities are available to them in growth sectors in the local authority.

The films are focussed on 6 Growth Sectors identified in the Moray Skills Framework launched in May 2017 by the Moray Council.  We now would like the film to be used as much as possible to inform our young people better about potential career paths available to them – examples of usage may be at careers events; to assist with the delivery of courses within schools/colleges; to generally promote the Moray area for work etc.

Please follow the link below and scroll down to the section that says “Careers in Moray – Films for Educational Usage”.

https://www.dywmoray.co.uk/education

Teachers, Lecturers and Employers are more than welcome to use them to show to our young people in Moray the Careers Available to them.   Please can you pass on this email to any of your colleagues who would find it of value to see or use the films.

The films are also available on our YouTube page.  Please click on the links below for each video.

  1. Early Learning and Childcare Sector Film – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVtmjGMz6bU
  2. Food, Drink & Tourism Sector Film – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvdIsrynuhc
  3. Engineering Sector Film – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6SYWiz89Tc
  4. Creative Industries & IT – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=txfUIjYhay0
  5. Business/Professional Services Sector Film – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8ruawNL-mo
  6. Land Based Sector Film – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mX77i4dvNdM

 

Also, if you haven’t yet noticed on our social media pages, there is a number of photos that were taken from our Moray’s Aspiring Film Trainee Awards (MAFTAs) on Monday evening.  This event launched the films and recognised all of the pupils involved in the project.  You can find these photos on the Facebook page “DYW More in Moray” – https://www.facebook.com/DYWMoreInMoray/.